can i look like this when i grow up?
Older


Newest


Profile


Guestbook


Host


Design

2003-06-10 // 10:42 a.m.

do gooder


I need to re-cap my sunday event at Circus Amuk. For everyone out there that is not familiar with this traveling freak show..let me enlighten you.

Well, the M.C. (or what-ever you call that lead man in the fancy clothes that introduces everyone) was a bearded lady. The same bearded lady that used to be a draw for the Freak Show out on Coney Island. She was joined by a band of 5-7 instrumentalists playing things from accordian to trombone. The performers were all in drag at sometime and the whole thing was like a big, gay, left wing happening. There were fat people running around, thin men on stilts semi-nudity, men in sequins and fancy shiny things...it was truly inspiring and anyone int he area should make plans to find out where they will be.

Enough about that. Yesterday my shit was so together.

In an effort to slim down for the Summer season I have been getting up early every morning and going to the gym (i didn't go today because I was too tired - it's this attitude that gives way to the love handles/spare tires that seem to shove themselves through every shirt I own). Anyway I worked out yesterday and felt great.

All know that I dislike what I do for a living, but regardless, yesterday I showed up on-time and worked like the Dickins all morning.

Then, at Lunch I returned a friends library book to the Public Library (this girl i know skips town, giving her already overdue library books to a mutual friend - that friend neglects to bring the books back for nearly two months - the mutual friend in turn asks me to return the extemely overdue books - I agreed to do it - not even complaing about carrying the two freightenly large volumes around all Friday night, taking them home to Brooklyn only to have to carry them back into the city to bring them to the library during open hours - I am that good of a friend). While I was there I checked out a book on "Pronouncing English Perfectly" (I volunteer at the International Center in New York and help foreign people learn our beautifully confusing language). I was just gonna xerox the pages I needed at the Library so I didn't have to check anything out - but then remembered that I could make copies for free at the office. Sometimes I amaze myself with how smart I am.

I came back to the office and started re-writing a paper for one of my Chinese speaking partners.

After work I stopped by the bookstore to pick up a book I needed for a course I'm taking on "Public Education". All this on my way to the Center to meet my foreign friends. I did two hours of volunteer work and on my way home called my mom.

Feeling on top of the world and oh so responsible I get to the suwbay station and realize that lost my wallet.


Previous Entry // Next Entry