can i look like this when i grow up?
Older


Newest


Profile


Guestbook


Host


Design

2003-09-19 // 10:39 a.m.

B I N G O


The day started off a little shakey�being completely hung-over I was beginning to doubt my ability to get my game on later in the day.

When I realized that my game was going to be compromised due to feeling so shitty, I decided to leave work early. It was obvious that I needed a nap in order to have the amount of dexterity needed to play the max amount of cards.

Last night was a big night. I was ready to make the commitment of getting a wand.

(for those not in the know) a wand is a plastic implement that has a very powerful magnet embedded within � when bingo has been called and it is time to clear the cards � one simply waves the wand over his/her cards and the metal rimmed chips are drawn to the wand.

The point of my having a wand was so I could play more cards�my hang-over was not gonna hold me back. A nap was a necessity.

I left work around 4:20 and made it home before 5:00. Set my alarm for 6:20 and passed out.

(I had this dream that I was making this weird scallop potato dish with crumbled meatloaf on top�the meatloaf kept crumbling and falling on the floor�I realized that it was 6:25 and bingo started at 6:30�obscenities started flying and I was running around the apartment totally freaking out that I was going to be late.)

Then the alarm rang � ah 6:20�it was only a dream and in real life bingo doesn�t start until 7:10.

I met Sandra at the Juice bar around 6:50 (I learned Kate was not joining us) and we headed over to the church so we could set up, save a seat for Joey and play the early bird.

I never seem to hear my cell phone ring � but always hear that weird beep when a message has been left. I heard it and assumed that Adrian was not going to be joining us.

With wand in hand the action began.

Now, it wasn�t as crowded as Wednesday nights, but we were at a lively table. To my right were some foul-mouthed white trash Italians and directly across from us were some British imports. Birdy - apparently just got in yesterday from England � we learned this during a false alarm when she miscalled bingo and her friend told us, I guess as an excuse, that Birdy just got in today. I liked them a lot � they shared chocolate with Sandra. But, just getting in town is no excuse for calling bingo when you don�t really have it.

Food seemed to be the theme of the table � knish, b.l.t., rice pudding, chocolate pudding, sweet potato fries�the possibilities are endless at the bingo hall.

In the end, we weren�t big winners.

I ended with $20 and that was the total count for our little group of three.


Previous Entry // Next Entry