can i look like this when i grow up?
Older


Newest


Profile


Guestbook


Host


Design

2003-08-01 // 9:44 a.m.

stroke me, stroke me


I sell advertising for a few different magazines.

Here to report on my run-in with Corporate America.

Two "new" phrases arose in the meetings: Headset and Solution.

Now, you might be familiar with "mindset"�well, "headset" is similar to "mindset". Our Corporate Leaders were using it in the sense of "we need to get into our customer's/client's headset", "What exactly do they feel they need?"

This is where "solution" comes in. We are not just selling ad pages�or on-line banners�we are selling complete marketing solutions. When a client comes to our publications they are able to find answers to all of their marketing needs.

I hope everyone has seen Romy and Michele's High School Reunion.

Because the scene where Lisa Kudrow goes into Versace and says she can, "sell the shit out of this stuff" and then proceeds to make a mock-jack-off hand motion above her head (which by the way is one of my favorite gestures). This is how all this fucking corporate bullshit makes me feel.

We did have nice dinners every night though. See, they try and "play" you. Like you're gonna be all, "oh, I'll sell my soul for a nice dinner or two."


Previous Entry // Next Entry