can i look like this when i grow up?
Older


Newest


Profile


Guestbook


Host


Design

2003-05-29 // 4:56 p.m.

some people can't even give it away


There will be times when I mention that I feel unfulfilled with my job. With this in mind, I kept a list of everything I did today. This way when I complain that - what I do contributes nothing to the world, or I just don't feel like I'm doing anything worthwhile, or sitting in a cubicle (although mine is flawlessly decorated) sucks - everyone will have an understanding of where I'm coming from.

Arrive 9:24 a.m.

Set-up - Turn on Computer, Log into Work E-mail system, Delete Junk Mail, Check Personal E-mail, Check favorite web-links (3), Plug Cell Phone and MP3 player into their respective chargers, Scan Magazine/News Rack and Pick out Texas Monthly (May 2003) Barbecue Issue, Return Call of Retarded Client, Make Personal Call, Stopped by friend's cubicle to say hello, Ate handfull of pumpkinseeds, Hooked MP3 up to computer as to have background music while at my cubicle

Work Begins - Sent out Fedex, Went through printout of a report, Faxed corrected report to co-worker, Returned phone call, Sent out Blast Fax (60), Retrieved Voicemail, Called Co-worker

Brake - Went downstairs for smoke

Work Resumes - Took Call from a client, Retrieved Voicemail that was left while I was smoking - Jacques Pepin's new book is in at the Strand (my copy is waiting for me at the desk) 1/2 off - only $13, Mailed Media Kit to Client, More Blast Faxing, Spent forever trying to correct my commission report, Went to Bathroom, Called Home, Looked up StrandBooks.com to see if another book I wanted was in stock, Made Lunch plans with co-worker, Took call from co-worker, More Blast Faxing

Lunch - Went to Lunch, Checked personal e-mail, Scanned the Texas Monthly Barbecue article

Work Resumes - More Blast Faxing, Called Co-worker, Spoke with Boss, Looked at Flowers on-line, Co-worker called me, Went to fountain to fill my water bottle

Brake - Went downstairs for smoke and to get coffee

Work Resumes - Retrieved Voicemail that was left while I was smoking, Sent a pdf of an ad to a client while on personal call, Checked my personal e-mail, Spoke with my boss, Read my favorite section of the New York Times, E-mailed a friend, Made a personal call, Took call from client, Wrote Proposal for client and sent out Fedex package Retrieved voicemail, Called home, Retrieved voicemail, Called client, Sent client e-mail

Went home right after I posted this entry!

Only if I could have it as good as Ms. Patti LaBelle:

"It's probably safe to say that none of the ladies making lunch in this leafy Philadelphia suburb last week faced a hot stove wearing black sequins and gold lam� pumps with five-inch heels. Except for Miss Patti LaBelle. 'I always dress like this to get my cook on,' she said, 'When you're feeling good, your food is good.'" - New York Times, May 28, 2003


Previous Entry // Next Entry